Chainsaw Maintenance and Cross-cutting (NPTC) - Writtle College

Chainsaw Maintenance and Cross-cutting (NPTC)

Stock image for course

About the Course

This course is for those intending to use a chainsaw for business, domestic or leisure activities. Topics covered include: basic maintenance and use of the chainsaw, on-site preparation and basic cross-cutting. Two consecutive days training followed by a one day NPTC assessment.

This course is a pre-requisite to Felling and Processing Trees up to 380mm.

Entry Requirements

The module requires reading and interpreting of information such as safety instructions and technical knowledge and prepares participants for NPTC independent assessment. This intensive practical course requires a good level of physical fitness and an ability to study written technical information.

We are governed by Health and Safety Executive (HSE) regulations therefore participants will not be allowed to start any chainsaw course without chainsaw boots and gloves.

• Chainsaw gloves - approved pictogram to BS EN 381-7

• Chainsaw boots - BS EN ISO 17249 bearing a shield depicting a chainsaw to show compliance with EN381-3, spats are no longer allowed.

Useful Information

Free parking is available on campus; a permit will be issued and should be clearly displayed.

Please bring a packed lunch and all refreshments needed for the day.

Related Courses

Click here for information on:

Course Dates

  • Monday 12 October 2015 - Tuesday 13 October 2015 (9:00am to 4:00pm) [Assessment 19 October]
    £515.00 per person
    (No places remaining)
  • Thursday 15 October 2015 - Friday 16 October 2015 (9:00am to 4:00pm) [Assessment 29 October]
    £515.00 per person
    (No places remaining)
  • Monday 23 November 2015 - Tuesday 24 November 2015 (9:00am to 4:00pm)
    £515.00 per person
  • Wednesday 25 November 2015 - Thursday 26 November 2015 (9:00am to 4:00pm)
    £515.00 per person
  • Thursday 14 January 2016 - Friday 15 January 2016 (9:00am to 12:00am)
    £515.00 per person
  • Thursday 21 January 2016 - Friday 22 January 2016 (9:00am to 4:00pm)
    £515.00 per person
  • Monday 15 February 2016 - Tuesday 16 February 2016 (9:00am to 4:00pm)
    £515.00 per person
  • Wednesday 17 February 2016 - Thursday 18 February 2016 (9:00am to 12:00am)
    £515.00 per person

For group bookings please contact Lorraine Cornwell 01245 424286


£515 (inclusive of equipment use, NPTC registration & assessment)


Two days plus one day assessment to be arranged.

An additional charge maybe incurred if participants do not accept the assessment date offered to them.


Lorraine Cornwell 01245 424286

Customer Feedback

“Staff really friendly, amazing, worth the money.” Ed from Danbury

“Couldn't fault it; excellent.” Sam from Benfleet



Course Accreditor