Chainsaw Maintenance and Cross-cutting (NPTC) - Writtle College

Chainsaw Maintenance and Cross-cutting (NPTC)

Stock image for course

About the Course

This course is for those intending to use a chainsaw for business, domestic or leisure activities. Topics covered include: basic maintenance and use of the chainsaw, on-site preparation and basic cross-cutting. Two consecutive days training followed by a one day NPTC assessment.

The module requires reading and interpreting of information such as safety instructions and technical knowledge and prepares participants for NPTC independent assessment. This intensive practical course requires a good level of physical fitness and an ability to study written technical information.

This course is a pre-requisite to Felling and Processing Trees up to 380mm.

Entry Requirements

Participants must have their own chainsaw gloves and properly protective chainsaw boots.

• Chainsaw gloves - approved pictogram to BS EN 381-7

• Chainsaw boots - BS EN ISO 17249 bearing a shield depicting a chainsaw to show compliance with EN381-3, spats are no longer allowed.

We are governed by Health and Safety Executive (HSE) regulations therefore participants will not be allowed to start any chainsaw course without chainsaw boots and gloves.

Click here for information on Tree Survey and Inspection Courses.

Click here for information on Professional Tree Inspection Courses.

Click here for information on Health & Safety and First Aid Courses.

Course Dates

  • Monday 6 July 2015 - Tuesday 7 July 2015 (9:00am to 4:00pm) [assessment 10 July]
    £495.00 per person
    (No places remaining)
  • Wednesday 8 July 2015 - Thursday 9 July 2015 (9:00am to 4:00pm)
    £495.00 per person
    (No places remaining)
  • Monday 27 July 2015 - Tuesday 28 July 2015 (9:00am to 4:00pm)
    £495.00 per person
    (No places remaining)
  • Thursday 6 August 2015 - Friday 7 August 2015 (9:00am to 4:00pm)
    £515.00 per person
  • Monday 7 September 2015 - Tuesday 8 September 2015 (9:00am to 4:00pm)
    £515.00 per person
  • Thursday 17 September 2015 - Friday 18 September 2015 (9:00am to 4:00pm)
    £515.00 per person
  • Monday 12 October 2015 - Tuesday 13 October 2015 (9:00am to 4:00pm)
    £515.00 per person
  • Wednesday 14 October 2015 - Thursday 15 October 2015 (9:00am to 4:00pm)
    £515.00 per person
  • Monday 26 October 2015 - Tuesday 27 October 2015 (9:00am to 4:00pm)
    £515.00 per person
  • Monday 23 November 2015 - Tuesday 24 November 2015 (9:00am to 4:00pm)
    £515.00 per person
  • Wednesday 25 November 2015 - Thursday 26 November 2015 (9:00am to 4:00pm)
    £515.00 per person


For group bookings please contact Lorraine Cornwell 01245 424286

Cost

£495 (inclusive of equipment use, NPTC registration & assessment)

from August 2015 the cost will increase to £515

Duration

Two days plus one day assessment to be arranged.

An additional charge maybe incurred if participants do not accept the assessment date offered to them.

Contact

Lorraine Cornwell 01245 424286

Customer Feedback

“Staff really friendly, amazing, worth the money.” Ed from Danbury

“Couldn't fault it; excellent.” Sam from Benfleet

NPTC

NPTC

Course Accreditor